PrePaidGSM.net Forum (Archived)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
herkdrvr (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 50
Join Date: 20 Sep 2005

Country:
Default Travelsim & SMS - Reliable? - 18-06-2007, 11:55

Looks like I'm going to change from UM to Travelsim, but am curious if the SMS features are reliable? Can anyone speak from experience? I will utilize it mostly in Australia, China, UAE, and Germany. Thanks in advance to anyone that can speak to this question.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
olev_p (Offline)
Member
Official Member
 
Posts: 31
Join Date: 21 Mar 2006

Country:
Default 20-06-2007, 09:21

Quote:
Originally Posted by herkdrvr View Post
Looks like I'm going to change from UM to Travelsim, but am curious if the SMS features are reliable? Can anyone speak from experience? I will utilize it mostly in Australia, China, UAE, and Germany. Thanks in advance to anyone that can speak to this question.
In my expirince SMS works fine.

travelsim uses ordinary SMS service, like all other roaming operators like T-mobile, Vodafone, etc. So it reliable, but may be not extraordinary cheap.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
herkdrvr (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 50
Join Date: 20 Sep 2005

Country:
Default 18-08-2007, 06:50

Hi all... okay, any experience with TravelSim and Verizon SMS? I've finally got mine activated. I was able to send an SMS to myself via the web but have been unable to send an SMS between my VZW phone, either way. Any experience? Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
herkdrvr (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 50
Join Date: 20 Sep 2005

Country:
Default 18-08-2007, 07:00

Quote:
Originally Posted by herkdrvr View Post
Hi all... okay, any experience with TravelSim and Verizon SMS? I've finally got mine activated. I was able to send an SMS to myself via the web but have been unable to send an SMS between my VZW phone, either way. Any experience? Thanks.
May have answered my own question. It appears Verizon doesn't play with any number in Estonia. Figures.... they are lousy when it comes to overseas stuff (GSM vs. CDMA, etc.). Cripe, just what I needed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
DRNewcomb (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
Posts: 1,465
Join Date: 27 Feb 2004
Location: Mississippi, USA

Country:
Default 18-08-2007, 12:56

Quote:
Originally Posted by herkdrvr View Post
Hi all... okay, any experience with TravelSim and Verizon SMS? I've finally got mine activated. I was able to send an SMS to myself via the web but have been unable to send an SMS between my VZW phone, either way. Any experience? Thanks.
You will find the SMS connection between any US CDMA carriers (e.g. Sprint, Verizon, Alltel) and any non-US/Canada GSM carriers to be virtually nonexistant. The US/Canada carriers got together and set up a system to pass SMS back and forth between each other but it depends on each carrier being hooked up to the interchange system. European GSM carriers don't generally exchange SMS with US CDMA carriers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
herkdrvr (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 50
Join Date: 20 Sep 2005

Country:
Default 18-08-2007, 14:39

Seems like you're right. However I know you can send/receive with a UK Vodofone number as my company uses them for their business PDA and I can send/recieve with no problem. Makes sense since they own 45%+ of VZW. Oi....

Surprisingly, I'm also unable to use my phone straight away with TravelSim. I have to go through their TravelSim Menu to make any calls, or use the *146* thingy, which is quite disappointing, especially since my UM card works well with this phone. BTW, it's a Vodofone V1640. Ah well, the trials of trying to be a world traveler and cheap at the same time. Hope the UM+ card shows up someday in my mailbox.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
olev_p (Offline)
Member
Official Member
 
Posts: 31
Join Date: 21 Mar 2006

Country:
Default 23-08-2007, 14:50

Quote:
Originally Posted by herkdrvr View Post
I have to go through their TravelSim Menu to make any calls
I suggest to try setting: 1101

(menu: TravelSIM>Settings> then enter digits 1101 then press OK)

it's compatibility setting for some Samsung handsets, which have similar problem.
but may be it helps you too.
After that direct calls should be possible.

To set back to default mode use setting: 1102.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
© 2002-2020 PrePaidGSM.net