PrePaidGSM.net Forum (Archived)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
HazelGirl (Offline)
Member
Official Member
 
Posts: 38
Join Date: 03 Feb 2005
Location: USA, sometimes Europe

Country:
Default question about recharging TIM sim online - 18-08-2007, 21:12

I have my TIM sim from last year and I've grown quite fond of it, really .....I just wish I could recharge online. I'm registered to access my account online but in the directions it says in order to recharge online, I need a credit card that was issued in Italy. I think that's rather ridiculous but are they real strict about it? If I try to do it anyway with my American credit card will it just be denied? That really sucks if it's true!!! Cuz it would be SO MUCH EASIER to recharge online instead of having to go to the tobacco shops all the time when in Italy.

Also, I know this is a prepaid forum, but are there postpaid options in Italy???? That is, if I were to go there longterm, I'd probably want a post-paid account (or not, I dunno!)


in the US: AT&T
in Italy: TIM
in France: Orange
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
maccoy (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
maccoy's Avatar
 
Posts: 194
Join Date: 23 May 2004
Location: Paris

Country:
Default 19-08-2007, 10:20

If you get a postpaid contract you'll have to pay a (stupid) €5.16 monthly tax even if you don't use your account.
Unfortunately a Tim prepaid card can't be recharged with a non-Italian credit card.
I have the same problem as you: the only Italian mobile operator that accepts my french credit card is Vodafone.


Prepaid
I: Vodafone, Wind, 3; F: Bouygues Telecom; M: Melita; INT: Travelsim, Zeromobile.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
AndreA (Offline)
Administrator
Prepaid Genius
 
AndreA's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,650
Join Date: 13 Jan 2004
Location: Florence, Italy

Country:
Default 20-08-2007, 11:07

Quote:
Originally Posted by maccoy View Post
If you get a postpaid contract you'll have to pay a (stupid) €5.16 monthly tax even if you don't use your account.
Another problem: without an OFFICIAL residence in Italy/SanMarino/Vaticano you can't activate any italian postpaid Then if you have that residence you need a credit card issued in Italy too... no payment by post for foreigner. Really really crap...

Quote:
Unfortunately a Tim prepaid card can't be recharged with a non-Italian credit card.
Did you try an American Express? sometimes this trick works


ANTPEAΣ AΠO THN ΦΛΩPENTIA
My Phones:
iPhone 2G, E65, N70, P910 DVB-H, A835, 6630, 7600, 6210, S55, T39
"Working" PrePaids: IT: Wind, H3G, Vodafone, Tim, CoopVoce, Poste Mobile, Telepass Mobile,
Uno Mobile - CH: OrangeClick - RSM: Prima Easy - UK: O2, H3G - INT: United Mobile, TravelSim, ICQ SIM
"Deceased" PrePaids: IT: Blu - AT: H3G - FR: Itineris - ES: Yoigo - GR: Cosmote, Frog - HR: Tele2 - UK: Virgin, Orange TO: UCall - NZ: Vodafone - IN: Hutch - CAN: Fido - USA: T-Mobile - INT: Travelfone, CallKey, Globalsim, HopMobile, GT, 09, Mobal, Yackiemobile

ITALIAN TLC BLOG

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Intasun77 (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: 24 Aug 2007

Country:
Default 24-08-2007, 11:05

I recharge my TIM card using ebay UK. They charge a bit extra but it keeps the sim card valid and you only need to do it once a year if you don't visit Italy.
When in Italy I also try to purchase the old style TIM Ricarica cards with the codes that you enter into your phone @ €10 but they are getting more difficult to purchase now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
msjfb (Offline)
Member
Official Member
 
Posts: 39
Join Date: 13 Oct 2004
Location: Quebec City

Country:
Default 27-08-2007, 21:29

I purchased earlier this year a recharge from Matteo at Samat.it (samat1@gmail.com). I purchased a 50euro recharge for 55euros. I considered the 'service charge' reasonable.
I sent him the money through Paypal, gave him my phone number and he recharged it from his end.

I would deal with him again anytime.

Frank
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Intasun77 (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: 24 Aug 2007

Country:
Default 30-08-2007, 16:37

msjfb

I agree with you, I purchased my sim of this guy, he's very reliable. I also, like you, use him to top up my sim if I don't visit Italia within the 12 month expire time.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
HazelGirl (Offline)
Member
Official Member
 
Posts: 38
Join Date: 03 Feb 2005
Location: USA, sometimes Europe

Country:
Default 10-09-2007, 07:30

So then let me get this straight.....Vodafone WILL let you top up using a non-Italian credit card?


in the US: AT&T
in Italy: TIM
in France: Orange
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
AndreA (Offline)
Administrator
Prepaid Genius
 
AndreA's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,650
Join Date: 13 Jan 2004
Location: Florence, Italy

Country:
Default 28-09-2007, 13:37

Quote:
Originally Posted by HazelGirl View Post
So then let me get this straight.....Vodafone WILL let you top up using a non-Italian credit card?
Not officially. Sometimes it works (expecially with AMEX)


ANTPEAΣ AΠO THN ΦΛΩPENTIA
My Phones:
iPhone 2G, E65, N70, P910 DVB-H, A835, 6630, 7600, 6210, S55, T39
"Working" PrePaids: IT: Wind, H3G, Vodafone, Tim, CoopVoce, Poste Mobile, Telepass Mobile,
Uno Mobile - CH: OrangeClick - RSM: Prima Easy - UK: O2, H3G - INT: United Mobile, TravelSim, ICQ SIM
"Deceased" PrePaids: IT: Blu - AT: H3G - FR: Itineris - ES: Yoigo - GR: Cosmote, Frog - HR: Tele2 - UK: Virgin, Orange TO: UCall - NZ: Vodafone - IN: Hutch - CAN: Fido - USA: T-Mobile - INT: Travelfone, CallKey, Globalsim, HopMobile, GT, 09, Mobal, Yackiemobile

ITALIAN TLC BLOG

   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
© 2002-2020 PrePaidGSM.net