PrePaidGSM.net Forum (Archived)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old
  (#1)
kaydee (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 27
Join Date: 09 Feb 2006

Country:
Default UM+ 44 Numbers Can't Be Reached from North America - 21-04-2008, 23:01

I have tried numerous long distance providers in Canada and the US, and none of them can route calls to my UM+ number, or UM's own customer service number at +44 7937 09 99 11

The providers here are blaming United Mobile, as none of them are able to get calls through.

I still have my UM423, but the charges to call it from North America are so high, and DialNow.com, although cheap has not been working recently.

Anyone else have this problem?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
VladS (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Pioneer
 
Posts: 590
Join Date: 22 Jun 2004

Country:
Default 21-04-2008, 23:26

You get what you pay for. Low cost calling card outfits block access to high termination cost destinations. You may want to try larger carriers such as Primus and AT&T.

I can call UM+ numbers just fine with both Primus US and Primus Canada.


VladS
Mobile phones: iPhone 5, Blackberry 9900, Nexus S, Samsung S3322 duos
Mobile data cards: Huawei E587u-5, Huawei E583c, Huawei E160
Postpaid SIMs: CA: Fido, Wind; INTL: Telna
Prepaid SIMs: DE: Fonic, Lidl; AT: yesss!, bob; UK: O2; US: AT&T; RO: Orange, Vodafone; FR: b&you, Lycamobile; NL: Lycamobile; BE: Lycamobile, Jim Mobile; CL: Entel; MX: Telcel; INTL: eKit Blue, eKit Yellow
Dead SIMs: too many to list
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
kaydee (Offline)
Junior Member
Amateur Member
 
Posts: 27
Join Date: 09 Feb 2006

Country:
Default I actually tried Primus, MTS Allstream and Bell... - 22-04-2008, 06:17

Quote:
Originally Posted by VladS View Post
You get what you pay for. Low cost calling card outfits block access to high termination cost destinations. You may want to try larger carriers such as Primus and AT&T.

I can call UM+ numbers just fine with both Primus US and Primus Canada.
I actually tried Primus Canada, MTS Allstream and Bell - the three big Canadian long distance providers. I'm surprised you were able to get through with Primus - I can't. Are you able to call the UM customer service number on their +44 number?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
prion (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Pioneer
 
Posts: 589
Join Date: 01 May 2006
Location: Greece

Country:
Default 22-04-2008, 07:36

I am having the same issue with various voip providers. Especially with some UK based. Have you tried calling the +447937 via dialnow?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
VladS (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Pioneer
 
Posts: 590
Join Date: 22 Jun 2004

Country:
Default 22-04-2008, 13:23

Tried it again last night.

Primus Canada (WinTel residential) - OK
Primus US (Lingo VoIP) - OK
voipcheap.com - OK


VladS
Mobile phones: iPhone 5, Blackberry 9900, Nexus S, Samsung S3322 duos
Mobile data cards: Huawei E587u-5, Huawei E583c, Huawei E160
Postpaid SIMs: CA: Fido, Wind; INTL: Telna
Prepaid SIMs: DE: Fonic, Lidl; AT: yesss!, bob; UK: O2; US: AT&T; RO: Orange, Vodafone; FR: b&you, Lycamobile; NL: Lycamobile; BE: Lycamobile, Jim Mobile; CL: Entel; MX: Telcel; INTL: eKit Blue, eKit Yellow
Dead SIMs: too many to list
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
PhotoJim (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 389
Join Date: 10 Dec 2006
Location: Regina, SK, CA

Country:
Default 22-04-2008, 16:37

les.net - OK
voip.ms - did not work as of last Sunday


CA: SaskTel, Wind postpaid; Rogers, Bell postpaid iPad flex plans; US: T-Mobile postpaid data, prepaid voice; PureTalk (AT&T MVNO) prepaid voice/data; AT&T prepaid iPad plan

Hardware: Too much but notably iPhone 5, iPad Mini Retina LTE, Moto G LTE (N.A. version), iPhone 4. All unlocked.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
bylo (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 204
Join Date: 03 Oct 2007

Country:
Default 22-04-2008, 22:03

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaydee View Post
Anyone else have this problem?
I just tried calling my UM+ cellphone from both a Canadian landline and a GSM phone (on the Rogers network.) The long distance provider in both cases is yak.ca. It took several tries but eventually the UM+ phone (also roaming on Rogers) began to ring.

I ran into the same situation about a year ago with UM423. Using Bell, Bell Mobility and yak.ca it would take several tries before the UM423 would ring. Sometimes it simply would not ring no matter how many times I tried. That was one reason why I switched to UM+.

Unfortunately this sort of thing is just too unreliable to use for the purpose I intended, i.e. so my elderly parents could call me in an emergency while I was travelling in Europe.

By contrast my Mobal number has been rock-solid. It costs more but at least I can depend on it.


Phones: OnePlus 5 • Nexus 5
SIMs: CA Fido/Fongo • AT A1-B.free • Google Fi
R.I.P.: UM • UM+
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Bossman (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Professionist
 
Posts: 1,257
Join Date: 22 Apr 2005
Location: Chicago

Country:
Default 22-04-2008, 22:38

Same problem here in the US. Voicestick and les.net connected. Sometimes voicestick takes several tries. The other calling cards I use just do not connect. Calling direct from either my tmobile or AT&T phones rings though.

Never had any problems connecting to UM+ before. Hence, I believe, and as mentioned above, most of these calling cards and VOIP providers are starting to realize the high termination rates they are being charged, and are blocking calls to UM+ numbber range. Those that connect like voicestick.es.net are charging a premium to this number range already. This is the exact same thing that happened with the UM Liechenstein numbers.


Phones: Xiaomi Mi Mix 2, Samsung Galaxy A50, ASUS zenfone 3,
Sim cards: AT&T (Contract), 3 UK, Piranha Mobile
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
andy (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Prophet
 
Posts: 2,128
Join Date: 10 Dec 2004

Country:
Default 22-04-2008, 22:58

Justvoip - no problem at all
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
MATHA531 (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Specialist
 
Posts: 869
Join Date: 15 Oct 2004

Country:
Default 28-04-2008, 01:26

Was just in Spain for a week...have call forwarding set up via my landline using AT&T ld....it seems that all calls went through....O9 seems to be working very well too via enlinea's US 800 service!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
© 2002-2020 PrePaidGSM.net