PrePaidGSM.net Forum (Archived)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old
  (#601)
kctopitz (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
kctopitz's Avatar
 
Posts: 94
Join Date: 05 Jan 2008

Country:
Default 14-11-2019, 14:23

ChrisNeedsToKnow -- thanks for posting.

I was able to log in to the Lycamobile UK site with my Toggle number and password. It shows my balance and profile info. No options that I can find for setting up local numbers so I assume they're no longer available. I sent an email to cs@lycamobile.co.uk and CC'ed cs@togglemobile.co.uk requesting a refund of the balance on my account.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#602)
ChrisNeedsToKnow (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 81
Join Date: 22 May 2013

Country:
Default 14-11-2019, 14:32

Quote:
Originally Posted by kctopitz View Post
ChrisNeedsToKnow -- thanks for posting.

I was able to log in to the Lycamobile UK site with my Toggle number and password. It shows my balance and profile info. No options that I can find for setting up local numbers so I assume they're no longer available. I sent an email to cs@lycamobile.co.uk and CC'ed cs@togglemobile.co.uk requesting a refund of the balance on my account.
overall I did the same, requesting a refund via cs@lycamobile.co.uk

I assume they will not even bother to reply, or if they do it will be a "we don't have to" reply...

In case of negative reply, or after 3 days without reply, I will move this forward to the ombudsman, and also ask back my last recharge via the credit card company. My last payment was only 1 month ago, so I hope that's another angle on how to get something back.

I will never use Lycamobile again. Lovely products, but just unreliable. They change whatever they feel like changing without any thought for the customer. Unbelievable.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#603)
MBK (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 116
Join Date: 31 Dec 2012

Country:
Default 15-11-2019, 04:38

They didn't even send us an email to inform of the change. What kind of customer service is that.

Anyway, I just saw that lyca seems to be offering local numbers in what they are calling "Sim multi no" in some of their countries.

I. ex: with a lyca French Sim you can get a 2nd UK local number.

So, the local numbers still seems to be available in some countries? If anyone has any more information please post.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#604)
ChrisNeedsToKnow (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 81
Join Date: 22 May 2013

Country:
Default 15-11-2019, 07:57

I seem to remember that Lycamobile "sometimes" assigns a local number when travelling to a country. But it seems to be luck-based.

By far not the "click and get" approach we used to enjoy.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#605)
bourbonkiller (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 193
Join Date: 22 Dec 2004
Location: Lake of Constance

Country:
Default 18-11-2019, 13:53

I've been travelling with my Toggle Mobile UK card end of September / beginning of October. When landing at Heathrow airport, I topped up and the lady told me "ah here it is, it's called Lycamobile/Toggle. That seemed to be the first sign of it.

Saw your posts on my way for a fair. Now that I'm back in Switzerland I switched on my phone with toggle, now Lycamobile. it still shows toggle as a network, but messages do come from Lyca. Tried to call my Swiss DID (+41 77 xxx). First time there was a busy tone, second and third try the call went through. Seems still to work fine. Would have tried with my german number as well, but can't remember the number...

Bourbonkiller


**********************************************
Mobiles: iPhone 7+, iPhone 7, iPhone SE, Blackberry Priv, Honor 8, Lumia 950
Prepaid-SIM: 3 UK, Save Money Sim, Toggle Mobile UK, XX-Sim, Koko Mobile
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#606)
andy (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Prophet
 
Posts: 2,128
Join Date: 10 Dec 2004

Country:
Default 18-11-2019, 16:44

It's good to hear details about how well it will still work, but it's going to be rather less attractive in future due to the increased rates.

Lycamobile specialises in cheap calls from home country to a range of foreign countries, but not so good for local calls within home country (unless a bundle is added), and not much good for roaming any more either.

No reply yet to email.

My credit level is modest, so I'm less affected than the people who have topped up recently. I'm thinking of either porting out, or staying for a while and using credit very slowly.

Last edited by andy; 19-11-2019 at 10:22..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#607)
ChrisNeedsToKnow (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 81
Join Date: 22 May 2013

Country:
Default 20-11-2019, 13:11

They confirmed that numbers can no longer be ordered / will not be assigned.

Useless, compared to what it was before and depending on what it was used for.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#608)
andy (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Prophet
 
Posts: 2,128
Join Date: 10 Dec 2004

Country:
Default 20-11-2019, 20:25

Yes, someone on another forum has been told that about numbers, though they did say Lyca would allocate an incoming number for 7 days in 4 countries - Ireland, Poland, Romania, USA

No point in using it for USA, given over £1 a minute incoming.

Not much point in Europe either any more ...

The same person was also told about saver rates, with a link that didn't show them.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#609)
MBK (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Fan
 
Posts: 116
Join Date: 31 Dec 2012

Country:
Default 21-11-2019, 00:13

OK, but I'm currently roaming in Europe (with a toggle local number) and my phone just re-registered on the network: a couple days ago when reconnecting to the network I got the info sms coming from TOGGLE. But today, this same sms came from LYCAMOBILE. The text was still exactly the same text I have been receiving for the past several years (=the rates are still the same).

So, if everything you guys are saying above is right:

1. The rates are still the same. When are they going to change?

2. And what happens to the local numbers that have been renewing automatically every year fo 5£? Are we keeping them and will they be renewed again when the current year expires, and in the future? (you say we can only get numbers for 7 days now, but what about the current numbers for 5£ per year?).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#610)
andy (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Prophet
 
Posts: 2,128
Join Date: 10 Dec 2004

Country:
Default 21-11-2019, 14:17

I've just had three calls with Lycamobile CS (two dropped on attempted transfer to supervisor)

Without too much boring detail, repeating myself that this is such a substantial tariff and product type change they should be willing to offer refunds and PACs, one thing I'll say here is I was told the contact form on the website doesn't work, so send direct to their cs email address
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
netherlands, toggle

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
© 2002-2020 PrePaidGSM.net