PrePaidGSM.net Forum (Archived)

Old
  (#1)
donlind

Default 04-04-2006, 22:33

I am a newbie and failed to find a definitive answer through searching the forum.

I have an unlocked GSM phone and would like to purchase a pre-paid Sim card upon arrival in France. As a non-resident, can I do this? Or must I go with the seemingly far more expensive option of buying a card in the USA?

Thanks for any insights.

Old
  (#2)
moua (Offline)
Official Member

Default 04-04-2006, 23:04

Yes you can get a prepaid card.
With somes provider you can even get a sim card in a "magazine" in a news stand.

Don't forget to have a 900/1800 phone unlocked.

Old
  (#3)
Marc (Offline)
Amateur Member

Default 05-04-2006, 03:11

Hi Don,

If you're anxious about setting it up right (I know I was the first time I did this), just go to one of the providers' shops--Orange, Bouygtel, SFR--to buy the SIM start-up kit, and ask the staff if they'd do the set-up for you. I'm not even sure I asked. The help was simply offered. You may be asked for an address (obviously not if you can buy your SIM at a newsstand--I never knew you could do that). A hotel address will do.

Have fun.

Marc

Old
  (#4)
Bonjour_Voyageurs (Offline)

Default 11-04-2006, 17:15

I also have read and read so many postings in many different forums but am still confused. Perhaps if I list my intention, someone can clarify or rectify me?
Itinerary:
My family and I are flying to Paris in May.
We are renting an apt. for 6 days.
Upon our arrival at CDG we are to call the rental agency IMMEDIATELY.
After 6 days, we are taking the TGV to Avignon, renting a car and driving around Provence for a week. We will turn in our car in Aix en Provence then a take train one day to Lyon, then Beaune, then back to Paris where we will stay one night in a hotel before returning home.
Phone idea:
Buy unlocked GSM phone on eBay.