PrePaidGSM.net Forum (Archived)

Old
  (#1)
jeffharris (Offline)
Advanced Member

Default 03-09-2006, 19:22

Hi,

I am new at this Global SIM thing, as I had, well, free international roaming for 6 years, but, that finally ended.

I have done a lot of research, went through all the rebadges, and tried to be fair on the country mix vs price, as I travel a lot, all over. I have found these 4 SIMS to be the best of the rebadge of the same companies, etc ... the thing is, there doesn't seem to be a lot of buzz on this forum on these SIMs, and I am wondering if I'm missing something, or if anyone has some opinions.

By the way, as far as forwarding a US phone to any of these, I have found that Skype seems to offer the best possibilities (quick forwarding [as opposed to my former service Kall8], and you can forward to multiple international numbers at once)

1) E-Kit - http://www.ekit.com/ekit/MobilePurch...ice_ckregional

I know this is a rebage of one of the Manx SIMs, but, it seems that it has the nicest mix of price vs coverage. I actually got this one, and wil start trying it this month. I see very little mention here, yet, the customer service is very good, and it is pretty straight forward. The only thing it lacks is auto recharge. Any opinions?

2) Maxsim - http://www.maxsim.co.uk

Also, a good mix of price vs roaming. This seems to be a rebadge of maybe the biggest Manx SIM company? And many people tlak about the other badges of this brand, but, this seems to be the best pricewaise, and organization-wise. This one seems to roam in a couple more countries (but at a higher cost) than E-Kit, and it still is a Manx number

3) Range Roamer - http://www.rangeroamer.com

No one has mentioned it here. It is an Estonia SIM, and it seems to have similar rates and coverage to UM, but, to call Estonia is a heck of a lot cheaper than Lichtenstein. Any thoughts?

4) Talafone -- http://www.49centscall.com/