PrePaidGSM.net Forum (Archived)


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old
  (#11)
PhotoJim (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 389
Join Date: 10 Dec 2006
Location: Regina, SK, CA

Country:
Default 06-11-2008, 19:49

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLC View Post
On another point entirely my cell phone has no reception in our house in Italy. I have to walk outside the village ( 2 houses down) or into the little Piazza in order to use the phone. I suspect it's the 2 feet of rock in our house walls but we may be in an area of weak signal? Does anyone else have this problem?
Does your phone support GSM 900? If not, and your provider does, that will make a difference in interior coverage.

Stone does attenuate signal very strongly, though. There is little that you can do to change the laws of physics.


CA: SaskTel, Wind postpaid; Rogers, Bell postpaid iPad flex plans; US: T-Mobile postpaid data, prepaid voice; PureTalk (AT&T MVNO) prepaid voice/data; AT&T prepaid iPad plan

Hardware: Too much but notably iPhone 5, iPad Mini Retina LTE, Moto G LTE (N.A. version), iPhone 4. All unlocked.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
BLC (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 79
Join Date: 23 Sep 2008
Location: Canada & Italy

Country:
Default 06-11-2008, 20:20

I am using a Motorola L6 for my Wind phone. It's supposed to be a quad band phone. I was hoping not to have to put a land line in but I've been checking on antennas and signal amplifiers and it may be cheaper. It's a pain having to go to the piazza with my phone and laptop just to check on emails!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
PhotoJim (Offline)
Senior Member
Prepaid Expert
 
Posts: 389
Join Date: 10 Dec 2006
Location: Regina, SK, CA

Country:
Default 07-11-2008, 13:29

Another alternative is to check other providers. It's entirely possible that you may have reliable service from another provider in your home. If you have friends in Italy that use other providers, have them come over or borrow their phone and see what sort of signal you get.


CA: SaskTel, Wind postpaid; Rogers, Bell postpaid iPad flex plans; US: T-Mobile postpaid data, prepaid voice; PureTalk (AT&T MVNO) prepaid voice/data; AT&T prepaid iPad plan

Hardware: Too much but notably iPhone 5, iPad Mini Retina LTE, Moto G LTE (N.A. version), iPhone 4. All unlocked.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
BLC (Offline)
Member
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 79
Join Date: 23 Sep 2008
Location: Canada & Italy

Country:
Default 07-11-2008, 18:20

My wife's TIM dosen't work either. We are in the mountains east of Rome and I think we are above the cell towers. I'am pretty sure an antenna on the roof would solve the problem but they are pricey! I found one in England but they wanted 300 pounds for it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Effendi (Offline)
The great Dictator!
Prepaid Prophet
 
Effendi's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,487
Join Date: 13 Jan 2004
Location: Trieste/Trst

Country:
Default 07-11-2008, 18:21

You can try with Vodafone, but probably you are in one of those "forgotten zones" where no mobile network is available... and if even TIM doesn't have signal that's probably likely the situation you are in.


Working Prepaids: IT: Wind, Vodafone IT, UNO Mobile; SM: Prima; UK: 3, Virgin; INT: TravelSIM, Truphone.
Deceased Prepaids: CZ: Oskar, Eurotel; SK: Orange; DE: E-Plus, Aldi, Simyo; GE: Geocell; AM: Armentel; PL: Heyah, Plus; LT: Tele2; LV: Amigo; EE: Elisa; UA: Kyivstar; NZ: Vodafone; INT: UM, UM+, ICQSim.
GSM/3G Phones: Nokia Lumia 630 dual sim
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
canada, wind it

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
© 2002-2020 PrePaidGSM.net